Westpac NSW Blues name six debutants for Origin I


Sunday 26 May 2024

Westpac NSW Blues coach Michael Maguire has named six debutants for the opening game of the Ampol State of Origin series at Accor Stadium in Sydney on Wednesday 5 June.

Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers), Joseph Sua’ali’i (Sydney Roosters), Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons), Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles) and Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters) will pull on the sky blue jersey for the first time.

Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles) has been named to captain the side, while Edwards has been named at fullback, Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers) at five-eighth and Nicholas Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks) at halfback.

The 20-man squad includes three emergencies, with Mitchell Barnett (Warriors) yet to make his debut for NSW.

The squad will divide their time between the NSWRL Centre of Excellence at Sydney Olympic Park and the Fairmont Blue Mountains Resort in Leura to prepare for Game One.

Maguire will hold a press conference tomorrow morning (9.30am) at the NSWRL Centre of Excellence to discuss his selections before the annual True Blues dinner is held later that night at The Star Event Centre to unveil the latest additions to the NSWRL The Star Hall of Fame.

Ampol State of Origin, Game One
Accor Stadium, Sydney
Wednesday 5 June

1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Joseph Sua’ali’i (Sydney Roosters)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Nicholas Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
14. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
15. Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
16. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
17. Hudson Young (Canberra Raiders)
18. Matt Burton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
19. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)
20. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)
Coach: Michael Maguire